Officials of Ministry of the Environment clearing a blocked drainage to allow for easy flow of water at Lekki, Lagos. Photo:Facebook

By Oladipupo Mojeed

The Lagos state Government has divided the state into five zones for what it called effective all-year-round drainage cleaning and clearing.

Commissioner for Environment Dr. Babatunde Adejare said the zones would be in line with the five divisions of Lagos: Ikeja, Badagry, Ikorodu, Lagos, and Epe.

He explained that the essence of the division into zones/units was to give room for effective flood management and clearing of all blocked drainage channels.

He also stressed that the present administration is determined in its pursuit of a clean, sustainable and livable environment as this holds the key to the well-being of the people.

Cleaner Lagos

“The Cleaner Lagos Initiative components include an all year round maintenance of the secondary and tertiary drains as well as removal of refuse, vegetal growth and silt from drains to allow for free flow of storm water,” he said.



Have a story to tell, or images to share on a breaking news story? Send them to  Concise News via Whatsapp (0906 928 2577)

Oladipupo Mojeed is a graduate of Mass Communications from Lagos State University, LASU. He is a photojournalist with a great zeal for concise news reportage complemented with gripping photographs.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here