INEC Declares Winner Of Bayelsa Governorship Election
David Lyon/Channels TV

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), has declared David Lyon, the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) winner of the governorship election held in Bayelsa State on Saturday.

According to officials results announced by INEC, Lyon polled 352,552 to defeat his closest rival, Duoye Diri of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who got 143,172 votes.

Advertise With Us

INEC’s Returning Officer of the election and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Benin, Professor Faraday Orunmuwese, declared Lyon winner of the poll around 1:03 am on Monday.

The Governor-elect clinched six LGAs while his PDP rival claimed the remaining two LGAs.

Lyon won in Brass, Ekeremor, Nembe, Ogbia, Southern Ijaw, and Yenagoa LGAs while Diri won in Kolokuma/Opokuma and Sagbama LGAs.

Professor Orunmuwese, while declaring the APC candidate as the winner, explained that a total of 505,884 votes were cast, out of which 499,551 were counted as valid votes.

He added that a total of 922,562 voters registered for the election but 517,883 voters were accredited.