rohr super eagles 2020 afcon quaifiers
Coach of the Super Eagles, Gernot Rohr. Twitter

Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr has blasted the Confederation of African Football (CAF) for the team’s 2021 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifiers schedule.

Concise News understands that the West Africans will fight neighbours Benin at home on 13 November before heading to face Lesotho four days later in the 2021 AFCON qualifiers.

Advertise With Us

According to the German gaffer, the situation is “not ideal and proper,” lamenting that CAF could not do anything when the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) wrote them to change the dates for the fixtures.

Speaking during the unveiling of his 23-man squad on Wednesday, Rohr expressed his displeasure over the fixture schedule.

“Our players from Europe will only get to us a day or two before the first game, so there is no time for adaptation to the African conditions,” Rohr said.

“After that game on Thursday, we travel to Lesotho away on Friday to play on an artificial surface on Sunday. This is not ideal and proper for any team.

“We’ve spoken to Caf about this but nothing has been done.

Mikel, Akpeyi Return

Rohr had invited Mikel Agu as well as Daniel Akpeyi for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifiers billed for November.

Mikel was on standby for the Super Eagles during the 2018 World Cup and Akpeyi has not played for the side since the 2019 AFCON in Egypt.

Also included in the team is captain Ahmed Musa who missed the West African side’s last two games with Ukraine and Brazil.

Lille striker Victor Osimhen is also included in the squad for the games with the Benin Republic and Lesotho.

Osimhen who limped out of Lille’s weekend clash due to injury is expected to recover on time for the qualifiers

Also, defenders Ola Aina and Kenneth Omeruo who missed the 2-2 stalemate against Brazil – made the 23-man list released by Rohr.

Nigeria Squad List Vs Benin Republic, Lesotho

Goalkeepers– Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Daniel Akpeyi, Maduka Okoye.

Defenders– William Ekong, Semi Ajayi, Kenneth Omeruo, Bryan Idowu, Chidozie Awaziem, Abdullahi Shehu, Jamilu Collins, Ola Aina.

Midfielders– Wilfred Ndidi, Ramon Azeez, Joe Aribo, Alex Iwobi, Mikel Agu.

Forwards– Ahmed Musa, Victor Osimhen, Moses Simon, Simon Kalu, Paul Onuachu, Emmanuel Dennis, Samuel Chukwueze.

NB: Stoke City’s Oghenekaro Etebo, Peter Olayinka and Leon Balogun are on standby for the ties.