Kwara State Governor, Abdul-Razaq

Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq of Kwara State has submitted another batch of 9 commissioners to the House of Assembly for confirmation.

Concise News had reported that the governor had initially released a four-woman list which was followed a few weeks ago by another list of six men.

Advertise With Us

Among the female-nominees is a serving 26-year-old female Youth Corps member, Miss Joana Nnazua Kolo.

Kolo, the youngest commissioner-nominee in the state’s history, is a 2018 graduate of Library Science from the Kwara State University (KWASU). A grassroots mobiliser, Kolo is an ardent advocate of community development.

In a statement on Tuesday, Chief Press Secretary to the governor, Rafiu Ajakaye, said the latest nominees comprised five women and one man.

Ajakaye said the full list came five months after the governor apologised to and pledged to compensate for women’s loss at the general election in which 100% of the elective positions went to men.

He said with the latest list, which reflects the state’s demography, Kwara will have nine women (56.25 percent) and seven men (43.75 percent) in the state executive council.

Unveiling the names at the floor of the House of Assembly, Speaker Yakubu Danladi said the screening of the nominees would begin on October 29.

The latest nominees are: Afolabi-Oshatimehin Adenike Harriet (Ifelodun); Ahmad Fatima Bisola (Ilorin West); Aremu Bose Deborah (Irepodun); Oyedun Juliana Funke (Isin); Oyeyemi Olasumbo Florence (Oke Ero); and Suleiman Rotimi Iliasu (Moro).