Latest Bayelsa State News Headline For Today Sept 5th
Bayelsa State Governor, Seriake Dickson

Good day, and welcome to the Concise News compilation of the latest Bayelsa State news online headlines for today, September 7th, 2019.

Bayelsa Guber: Timi Frank Reveals Winner Of Bayelsa Election

Advertise With Us

Former Deputy National Publicity Secretary of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Timi Frank, has maintained that the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) would lose the forthcoming Governorship election in Bayelsa state.

Concise News understands that Frank, in a statement issued on Friday, in Abuja, disclosed that PDP as chosen to “field a weak candidate,” adding that the APC’s candidate is better placed to win the elections, he, therefore, congratulated the candidate of the APC in Bayelsa state, David Lyon, ahead of the elections.

He said: “APC will win the forth-coming governorship election in Bayelsa State, seeing the weak candidate (Governor Seriake) Dickson and the PDP have chosen as their flag-bearer.”

APC Names Appeal Panels For Bayelsa Governorship Primaries

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has constituted appeal committees of its governorship primaries in Bayelsa and Kogi State.

The party’s National Publicity Secretary, Lanre Issa-Onilu, announced this in a statement on Thursday.

He explained that the National Working Committee of the APC appointed three persons for each of the appeal panels.

The Kogi Indirect Primary Appeal Committee has Senator Abdulahi Yandoma as chairman and Amina Muhammed as Secretary while Tony McFoy is a member.

For the Bayelsa Direct Primary Appeal Committee, Shuaibu Aruwa is the Chairman, while Edith Amadi and Abdul Malik El-Yakub are secretaries and member respectively.

INEC Closes Nominations For  Bayelsa Governorship Election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has closed the nomination of candidates by political parties fielding candidates in the November 16 governorship elections in Kogi and Bayelsa States.

Concise News understands that INEC National Commissioner in Charge of Information and Voter Education Committee, Festus Okoye on Thursday made this known in a statement.

In the statement, Nigeria’s electoral umpire reminded the parties that September 5, 2019, was the last day for the conduct of party primaries while September 9, is the last day for the submission of the list of nominated candidates.

Okoye said the commission’s media centre at its headquarters in Abuja would be open to receive the list of nominated candidates on or before Monday.

And that’s the latest news from Bayelsa state for today. Do enjoy the rest of your day.