Kogi Governorship: Yahaya Bello Wins Gubernatorial Ticket
Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi State (image courtesy: Kogi Government House)

The incumbent governor of Kogi state, Yahaya Bello, has defeated nine other aspirants to win the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship ticket for the November 16 election in the state.

The governor won with 3,369 votes.

Advertise With Us

Chairman of the electoral panel that conducted the election, Governor Abubakar Badaru of Jigawa, announced that Babatunde Irukera came second with 109 votes while Honourable Hassan Bewa came third with 44 votes.

According to Badaru, Yahaya Audu got 10 votes while Sani Abdulahi polled seven votes, with Abubakar Bashir getting three.

Badaru also said that Blessing Ekele, Hadiza Ibrahim, Yakubu Mohammed and Danlami Mohammed scored zero votes.

A total of 3,596 delegates were accredited for the primary conducted inside the Confluence Stadium in Lokoja, the state capital.

Fifty-four votes were declared invalid.