President Muhammadu Buhari (image courtesy State House)

The Presidency has denied a list making the rounds on social media of ‘Ministers-Designate and assigned portfolio’ by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Concise News reports that the Senate on Wednesday this week confirmed Buhari’s list of 43 ministerial nominees, without portfolios, for appointment.

Advertise With Us

The Personal Assistant on New media to Buhari, Bashir Ahmad, on his Twitter page, urged Nigerians to disregard any list of ministers’ portfolios making the rounds on social media.

Ahmad wrote: “So someone makes a list of Ministers-Designate and assigned portfolio for them. The assigned list is now trending on WhatsApp as usual.

“DISREGARD any list please Nigerians. Portfolio will be announced by Mr. President after their inauguration as Ministers of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.”

No fewer than 14 former ministers who worked in the first term of Buhari made the list.

They are Babatunde Fashola (Lagos); Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers); Hadi Sirika (Katsina), Zainab Ahmed (Kaduna); Lai Mohammed (Kwara); Chris Ngige (Anambra); Adamu Adamu (Bauchi); Abubakar Malami (Kebbi); Godfrey Onyeama (Enugu); Ogbonnaya Onu (Ebonyi); Osagie Enahire (Edo); Suleiman Adamu (Jigawa); Mohameed Bello (Adamawa); and Mustapha Baba Shehuri (Borno).

Also on the list are former Senate Minority Leader Goodwill Akpabio; Senator Gbemisola Saraki; and Buhari’s campaign spokesperson Festus Keyamo.

The list also has Senator Olorunnimbe Marmora; Senator Tayo Alasoadura; former governor Rauf Aregbsola; former governor Niyi Adebayo; and former governor Timipre Sylva, among others.