Lagos Governor Sanwo-Olu Names 25 Commissioner
Sanwo-Olu picks commissioners and advisers nearly two months into tenure as governor (image courtesy Lagos State Govt)

The governor of Lagos state, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, has nominated 25 persons for commissioner and special adviser in the Centre of Excellence, Concise News reports.

This was made known on Sunday by the governor’s media aide Gboyega Akosile.

Advertise With Us

He said that the transmission of the list was in fulfilment of Sanwo-Olu’s promise to accelerate his administration’s development agenda.

He said the 25, after undergoing the lawmakers’ screening, would assume duty as commissioners and Special Advisers.

“Governor Sanwo-Olu carefully picked the nominees based on their cognate experience in their respective professions,” a statement from Akosile read.

“The list comprised names of technocrats and politicians, who understand the challenges of the state.

“The painstaking and laborious selection process was aimed at constituting the best team that will serve Lagos in line with the agenda of his administration vision of delivering a city-state that will rank among the top most liveable cities in the world, it said, adding:

“We took our time to pick the best hands for the tough job Lagosians have elected us to do. The nominees for the 25 commissioner and special adviser positions include women and men who have made their mark and at the zenith of their professional callings.”

The governor’s statement said consultation was going on to the complete number of executive council (exco) members.

The statement also read that “There are 17 men and eight women who will be sworn in as members of the State Executive Council. Also in keeping his promise of millennial’s inclusion, Governor Sanwo-Olu included youths who are in their early and mid-thirties in the list of nominees.

“The State House of Assembly is expected to carry out a screening of the nominees to set the machinery of governance in full swing.”

The nominees include: Rabiu Olowo Onaolapo; Mrs. Folashade Adefisayo; Prof. Akin Abayomi; Dr. Idris Salako; Tunji Bello; Mrs. Toke Benson-Awoyinka; Mrs. Bolaji Dada; Lere Odusote; Dr. Frederic Oladeinde; Gbolahan Lawal; Ms. Adekemi Ajayi and Femi George.

There are also: Dr. Wale Ahmed; Moyo Onigbanjo (SAN); Hakeem Fahm; Mrs. Ajibola Ponnle; Aramide Adeyoye; Segun Dawodu; Mrs. Uzamat Akinbile-Yusuf; Sam Egube; Ms. Ruth Bisola Olusanya; Princess Aderemi Adebowale; Tunbosun Alake and Afolabi Ayantayo.