Ministerial List: Senate President Lawan, Denies Comments On Nominees Submission
Senate President, Ahmed Lawan/TOS TV Network

Senate president Ahmed Lawan has dismissed speculations that he claimed President Muhammad Buhari would submit his ministerial list to the Senate this week.

Concise News reports that Lawan, after a closed-door dinner hosted by the President for the presiding and principal officers of the National Assembly on Thursday night at Banquet Hall in Abuja, said the senate had not received the ministerial nominees’ list from the president.

Advertise With Us

The Senate President explained that he did not promise Nigerians that the ministerial list would be forwarded to the senate this week.

When asked if he was now in possession of the ministerial list, he said “Well, I came for dinner and the process of receiving list is not at dinners. That is all I have to say about this.”

Mentioned that he promised Nigerians that the list will get to the Senate this week he said: “I never did. Let me take this opportunity to correct that. A senator raised a point of order under personal explanation and he said we (the senate) should be sent the list of ministers by the executive arm of government.

“And in my response, I said the executive is working so hard to ensure that the list of Nigerians that will help this Administration work is going to be constituted, we could even receive it this week.

“Could is conditional and I will urge everybody here to report it as it is.”

It was learnt that the Presidency was surprised on Wednesday when it was reported that the senate president announced that the ministerial list would be sent to the Senate this week.

Those at the dinner included the Deputy Senate President, Ovie Omo-Agege, Abdullahi Yahaya – Majority Leader, Ajayi Borofice – Deputy Leader, Orji Uzor Kalu – Chief Whip and Sabi Abdullahi – Deputy Chief Whip.

Others were Emmanuel Bwacha, Deputy Minority leader, Phillip Aduda- Minority Whip, Sabi Wau, Deputy Minority Whips.

Also, House of Representatives members present were Alhassan Ado-Doguwa, Majority leader, Ndudi Godwin Elumelu – Minority Leader, Toby Okechukwu – Deputy Minority Leader. and Nkeiru Onyejocha, Deputy Whip.

The Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly matters (Senate), Ita Enang, Chairman of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Adams Oshiomhole and the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, SGF, Boss Mustapha, were also in attendance.