Kogi Governorship: 20 Aspirants Condemn Indirect Primaries
Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi State/Twitter

Twenty governorship aspirants in Kogi have kicked against the indirect primary adopted by the National Working Committee (NWC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for the governorship election in the state.

In a letter addressed to the National Chairman, Adams Oshiomhole, the forum warned that the indirect primary adopted by the party would have a serious negative consequence on the victory of the party in the state.

Advertise With Us

The spokesman for the forum, Mohammed Ali, said that the decision to protest against the adoption was decided at a meeting held on Sunday.

Ali said: “The planned adoption of the indirect party primary is inherent with serious negative consequences for the fortune of the party in Kogi State.

“We regret to observe that such decision was taken without adequate consultation with critical stakeholders of the party in the state especially the governorship aspirants on the platform of the party and other contending groups in the polarised structure of the party in the state.

“The decision to adopt an indirect primary by the National Working Committee is fraught with severe implications. First, contrary to the information given to the National Working Committee, there is a suit pending in Abuja court seeking to determine the authentic executive of the party in the state.

“As a matter of fact, at the last hearing, the suit was adjourned till October 2, 2019. Second, arising from the pendency of the various suits to determine the legitimate party executive council in the state, the use of any factional delegate list may amount to an exercise in futility. And lastly, we may have unconsciously set a booby-trap for our party and the stage for the replay of the unfortunate Zamfara scenario.”

The aspirants also expressed sadness over the selective approach of the NWC in treating the primary election in the state as opposed to that of Bayelsa.

The governorship aspirants in attendance included: Aliyu Zakari-Jiya, Dr Tim Diche, Alhaji Yusuf Haruna, Admiral Usman Jibrin (retd.), Alhaji Mohammed Audu, Alhaji Mohammed Ali, Alhaji Sani Lulu Abdullahi, AlhajiJibrin Haruna Mohammed, AIhaji Yakubu Mohammed.

Others were Sheikh Ibrahim Jibril, Chief Momoh Y. Obaro, Prince Sani H. Shuaibu, Comrade Gowon Egbunu, Prince Sanni Shuaibu, Prince Mustapha Mona Audu, Alhaji Ahmed Ibrahim Aruwa, Gen. Akpa Patrick, Engr. Sunday Edibo, Khalid Adams and Yusuf Ali.