Crisis In Edo Assembly As 14 Lawmakers Run To House Of Reps In Abuja
Nigeria’s House of Reps

Fourteen lawmakers tied to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) from Edo State on Tuesday stormed the National Assembly to demand proper inauguration of Edo Assembly by Governor Godwin Obaseki.

Led by Comrade Peter Akpatason and Julius Ihonvbere, the lawmakers moved a motion asking the National Assembly to take over the running of Edo Assembly.

Advertise With Us

It was learned that the House thereafter resolved to set up a committee to probe the crisis.

Concise News reports that the 14 lawmakers had fled the state after thugs allegedly loyal to the state government attacked them in a hotel.

It was learned that four of the elected members, including the younger brother of the National Chairman of the APC, Seid Oshiomhole, were allegedly beaten up.

In June, former National Chairman of the party John Odigie-Oyegun blamed his successor, Adams Oshiomhole, for the crisis in the Edo State House of Assembly.

Oyegun accused Oshiomhole of working to undermine Governor Obaseki ahead of the governorship election holding next year.

Speaking through his Special Assistant on Political Affairs, Chief Ray Murphy, Oyegun said, “Obaseki is the executive governor of Edo state and he should be allowed to exercise the powers vested in him by the law. To what purpose is the APC chairman putting the state under tension?

“As a governor under APC platform, he should be allowed to run out his tenure before they decide whether to bring him back or not. There are so many antics going on and you don’t need to be a prophet or Babalawo to trace where they are coming from. They are coming from the APC.”