9th NASS Inauguration: Gbajabiamila Elected House Of Reps Speaker
Femi Gbajabiamila

Femi Gbajabiamila, from Lagos state, has been elected as the Speaker of Nigeria’s House of Representatives.

Gbajabiamila, member of the All Progressives Congress (APC), defeated Mohammed Bago also of the ruling party, to emerge as speaker of the lower legislative chamber.

Advertise With Us

The Lagos lawmaker got 358 votes to beat Bago who got 76.

Gbajabiamila, who was born in 1962, is a 4th term member and majority Leader in the 8th House of Representatives.

For the Deputy Speaker position, Sada Soni, from Katsina, nominated Ahmed Idris, from Plateau.

When the Clerk made an announcement for another nomination there was none and Idris was, therefore, declared the Deputy Speaker.