INEC Finally Declares Winner Of Bauchi Governorship Election
PDP governorship candidate in Bauchi State Bala Mohammed

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Bala Muhammed of the Peoples Democratic Party as winner of the Bauchi governorship election.

Mohammed, a former minister of Nigeria’ Federal Capital Territory (FCT), defeated Muhammed Abubakar, the incumbent governor of the northeast state.

Advertise With Us

According to the INEC returning officer for Bauchi state, Professor Mohammed Kyari, the PDP candidate polled a total of 515,113 votes, while his nearest challenger, the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), got 500,625.

The returning officer said having scored the highest number of votes and satisfied all requirements, the PDP candidate had therefore been returned elected.

The commission resumed collation after a Federal High Court in Abuja on Monday dismissed a suit challenging the decision of INEC to resume collation of results.

Governor Abubakar had challenged INEC in court for deciding to continue with the collation of results after it had earlier declared the exercise in the state inconclusive.

But a temporary restriction on the process was lifted Monday by the court, allowing INEC to complete its collation and announcement of winner.