Winner Of Presidential Election In Okorocha's Imo Emerges (See Result)
Atiku campaigns in Owerri, Imo state (image courtesy Atiku Twitter handle)

Presidential candidate of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Atiku Abubakar, defeated President Muhammadu Buhari of All Progressives Congress (APC) in Imo state – the territory of the chairman of APC governors’ forum, Rochas Okorocha.

Results were announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) returning officer in Imo, Prof. Benjamin Ozurumba, on Monday night.

Advertise With Us

Ozurumba said that the PDP scored a total of 334,923 votes to beat the APC that polled 140,463 votes and the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) that got 10,880 votes.

Out of a total of 542,777 votes cast, 511,586 were valid while 31,191 votes were rejected.

The INEC official said the PDP candidate won in 25 local government areas to defeat its closest rival, Buhari, who won in Oru East and Ideato South – Okorocha’s local government area.

Local government areas won by the PDP are Oguta, Isu, Nwangele, Ezinihite Mbaise, Nkwerre, Oru west, Njaba, Owerri North, Onuimo, Ohaji-Egbema, Owerri municipal, Ahiazu Mbaise and Ngor Okpala.

Others are Orlu, Owerri West, Aboh Mbaise, Ehime Mbano, Obowo, Ikeduru, Mbaitoli, Isiala Mbano, Orsu, Ihitte-Uboma, Ideato North and Okigwe.