Buhari Gets First Ever Victory In Nasarawa
Buhari Gets First Ever Victory In Nasarawa

For the first time since 2003, President Muhammadu Buhari has won Nasarawa state, defeating Atiku Abubakar by 37,896 votes.

Results collated by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Lafia shows that Buhari’s All Progressives Congress polled 279,315 votes to defeat Atiku’s Peoples Democratic Party who polled 241,419 votes.

Advertise With Us

Buhari won in eight local governments while Atiku won in five local governments marking the first time the Peoples Democratic Party has lost Nasarawa state in a presidential election since then return to democracy in 1999.

The president got his highest number of votes in Lafia, the state capital, where he polled 55,254, while Atiku got his highest votes in Karu local government after polling 49,292.