imo state house of assembly. Core TV.

Speaker of the Imo State House of Assembly Acho Ihim and 17 other members of the House on Thursday defected from the APC and the PDP to the Action Alliance (AA).

Concise News learned that the speaker, while reading the notice of defection during plenary, also announced that he had joined the AA.

Advertise With Us

While 15 lawmakers of the 27-member assembly exited the ruling APC, three are understood to have decamped from the main opposition PDP.

The other APC defectors include: Lloyd Chukwuemeka, Victor Onyewuchi, Ikechukwu Amuka, Authur Egwim, Uju Onwudiwe, Uche Ejiogu, Ngozi Obiefule, and Lugard Osuji.

Also out of the APC are Chinedu Offor, Kennedy Ibe, Lawman Duruji, Max Odunze, Henry Ezediaro, and Obinna Egu.

He explained that 15 lawmakers of the APC, including himself, as well as three lawmakers of the PDP, decided to join AA to further their political life.

It was learned that the APC members cited injustice, impunity and abuse of rule of law allegedly by the leadership of the party as what led to their exits.

The Action Alliance, by virtue of this development, has the majority of the number of members in the House while the APC remains the minority.