Luka Modric

Croatia’s Luka Modric has won the men’s Ballon d’Or award, the prestigious prize given to the best football in the world.

The Real Madrid midfielder beat five-time winner Cristiano Ronaldo and World Cup winner Antoine Griezmann to the honour at a glamorous ceremony in Paris.

Advertise With Us

Kylian Mbappe won the inaugural Kopa Trophy for the best young player, while Lyon and Norway forward Ada Hegerberg won the first women’s Ballon d’Or.

Modric has proved a crucial part both of Real Madrid’s third successive Champions League triumph, beating Liverpool in the final 3-1, and as captain in Croatia’s impressive run to the World Cup final which earned him the tournament’s Golden Ball.

The 33-year-old’s prize sees an end to the 10-year duopoly of Messi, who finished fifth overall in his lowest ranking since 2006, and Ronaldo, who came second. France and Atletico Madrid forward Griezmann finished third, with his France team-mate Mbappe finishing fourth.

How 2018 Ballon d’Or ended

Winner: Luka Modric (Croatia/Real Madrid)

1st Runner Up: CR7 (Portugal/ Juventus)

2nd Runner up: Griezman (France/Atletico Madrid)

3rd Runner up: Mbappe (France/Monaco)

5th: Messi (Argentina/Barcelona)