Three Eagles Star Make Caf Player Of The Year Award Shortlist
Ahmed Musa scored two goals at the 2018 World Cup/Twitter

Three Super Eagles players have been named in the 34-man shortlist for the 2018 Caf African Player of the Year after the list was released on Friday.

Ahmed Musa, Odion Ighalo and Alex Iwobi were listed among the players to vie for the individual continental gong.

Advertise With Us

Musa bagged a brace as Nigeria mauled Iceland 2-0 in their second group game at the 2018 World Cup in Russia but the Eagles crashed out following a 2-1 loss against Argentina.

Holder and Egypt’s’ Mohamed Salah was also listed as a contender for the award which would be decided by votes from the members of the Caf Media Committee, Caf Technical and Development Committee and half of the 20-member panel of experts.

The Awards Gala would hold on January 8 January 2019 in Dakar, Senegal.

See the full list of nominees for the Caf Player of the Year Award:

Abdelmoumene Djabou (Algeria & ES Setif)
Ahmed Gomaa (Egypt & El Masry)
Ahmed Musa (Nigeria & Al-Nassr )
Alex Iwobi (Nigeria & Arsenal)
Andre Onana (Cameroon & Ajax)
Anis Badri (Tunisia & Esperance)
Ayoub El Kaabi (Morocco & Hebei China Fortune)
Ben Malango (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
Fanev Andriatsima (Madagascar & Clermont Foot)
Franck Kom (Cameroon & Esperance)
Jacinto Muondo Dala ‘Gelson’ (Angola & Primeiro de Agosto)
Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax)
Idrissa Gueye (Senegal & Everton)
Ismail Haddad (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)
Jean-Marc Makusu Mundele (DR Congo & AS Vita)
Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)
Mahmoud Benhalib (Morocco & Raja Club Athletic)
Mehdi Benatia (Morocco & Juventus)
Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
Moussa Marega (Mali & Porto)
Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool)
Odion Ighalo (Nigeria & Changchun Yatai, Nigeria)
Percy Tau (South Africa & Union Saint-Gilloise)
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal)
Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)
Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
Taha Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance)
Thomas Partey (Ghana & Atletico Madrid)
Wahbi Khazri (Tunisia & Saint-Étienne)
Walid Soliman (Egypt & Ahly)
Wilfried Zaha (Cote d’Ivoire & Crystal Palace)
Yacine Brahimi (Algeria & Porto)
Youcef Belaili (Algeria & Esperance)