Bosnian Croat member Zeljko Komsic (L), Bosnian Serb member Milorad Dodik (C) and Bosnian Muslim member Sefik Dzaferovic (R) at their inauguration ceremony at the Bosnian presidency in Sarajevo on Tuesday. AFP photo

Bosnia swore in its three new presidents on Tuesday, with all eyes on Serb nationalist Milorad Dodik, who will be the first to take the helm of a government driven by ethnic divides.

The three men will rotate seats every eight months under the complex peace deal that ended Bosnia’s 1990s war and split power between its three main groups: Bosnian Muslims (Bosniaks), Serbs and Croats.

Advertise With Us

In October, voters chose nationalists to represent the first two communities, in a sign of how tribalism continues to shape politics more than two decades after the war.

The three men took their oaths inside Sarajevo’s Presidency building before several dozen ambassadors and politicians.

Dodik, a pro-Russian politician who is sanctioned by the US, will co-lead with Bosnian Muslim president Sefik Dzaferovic, who hails from the nationalist conservative SDA party, and Croat president Zeljko Komsic.

Komsic, a Social Democrat, is an outlier among the two nationalists and has called for a “Bosnia of citizens” that would transcend communal divisions.

But he is already facing attacks from the main right-wing Croat party that accuses him of betraying his people and now threatens to obstruct activity in parliament.

“It is currently very difficult to find a common denominator between Dodik, Komsic and Dzaferovic for constructive work,” Bosnian political journalist Ranko Mavrak said in a radio interview.

“These three will have to decide whether they want to act as a body that seeks points of agreement or creates problems,” he added.