New Falcons coach instructs players (image courtesy NFF)

African footballer of the year Asisat Oshoala headlines a list of 21 players released by coach Thomas Dennerby for the 11th Africa Women’s Cup of Nations in Ghana.

The Super Falcons, who won the title for a record 8th time in 2016, will compete in Group B alongside perennial rivals South Africa, Equatorial Guinea and Zambia.

Advertise With Us

They will kick off their campaign against Banyana Banyana on 18 November, one day after host nation Ghana and Algeria will have kicked off the tournament in Group A.

The top two sides in the groups will progress to the semi-finals, while the eventual top three teams qualify for the 2019 Fifa Women’s World Cup in France.

According to the Nigeria Football Federation, the African champions, who are camping at Sol Beni in Abidjan, would leave for Ghana on 14 November.

The full list:

Goalkeepers: Tochukwu Oluehi (Rivers Angels); Christy Ohiaeriaku (Confluence Queens); Chiamaka Nnadozie (Rivers Angels).

Defenders: Glory Ogbonna (Ibom Angels); Sarah Nnodim (Nasarawa Amazons); Ngozi Ebere (Barcelona FC, Cyprus).

Faith Michael (Pitea IF, Sweden); Onome Ebi (Henan Huisanhang, China); Osinachi Ohale (Vaxjo DFF, Sweden); Josephine Chukwunonye (Asarum AIF, Sweden).

Midfielders: Amarachi Okoronkwo (Nasarawa Amazons); Ngozi Okobi (Eskiltuna UTD, Sweden); Rita Chikwelu (Krstianstand DFF, Sweden); Halimat Ayinde (Asarum AIF, Sweden).

Forwards: Anam Imo (Nasarawa Amazons); Rasheedat Ajibade (FC Robo Queens); Asisat Oshoala (Dalian Quanjian, China).

Francisca Ordega (Washington Spirit, USA); Desire Oparanozie (En Avant Guingamp, France); Chinaza Uchendu (SC Braga, Portugal); Chinwendu Ihezuo (Biik Kazygurt, Kazakhstan).