APC National Chairman Adams Oshiomhole. Image: Guardian Nigeria

The crisis rocking the All Progressives Congress (APC) may not end anytime soon as a factional chairman of the party in Delta State, Cyril Ogodo, has filed contempt proceedings charge against the National Chairman of the APC, Adams Oshiomhole.

Ogodo is accusing the former Edo State governor of allegedly submitting a list of candidates from the state despite a court order.

Advertise With Us

The faction filed Form 48 Notice of Consequence of Disobedience of an order of a court before the Federal High Court in Abuja against Oshiomhole, the chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Prof Mahmood Yakubu and factional APC chairman, Jones Erue.

The action, which was filed by Mike Ozekhome (SAN), followed Oshiomhole’s alleged disobedience of an order for status quo by Justice T. B. Adegoke of the Asaba Division of the Federal High Court on October 17.

The Ogodo-led executive claimed that its primaries produced Prof Pat Utomi and Olorogun O’tega Emerhor as governorship and senatorial candidates respectively, while Erue’s executive conducted another primary, which produced Great Ogboru and Senator Ovie Omo-Agege as governorship and senatorial candidates respectively.

Ozekhome argued that the Supreme Court decisions in a number of cases including Labour Party v Independent National Electoral Commission (2009) and Gwarzo V Mohammed & Anor (2012), stresses the need to obey the order of court.

No date has been fixed for the hearing.