Akwa Ibom Assembly Dissolves All Standing Committees
Akwa Ibom Assembly.

The Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly on Tuesday, dissolved all standing committees and set up an eight-member selection team.

Onofiok Luke, the speaker of the Assembly, is the chairman of the selection team, which will pick new members,

Advertise With Us

Concise News understands that the development took place at a plenary session presided over by the Speaker at the Assembly Chambers, Udo Udoma Avenue, Uyo, the state capital.

Speaking on the issue, the speaker said:  “the decision was borne out of the need to re-jig the committees for optimum performance and effective service delivery.”

Luke commended members of the dissolved committees for their contributions to the peaceful coexistence with the government and people of the state in the last couple of years.

The speaker, who represents Nsit Ubium state constituency noted that the executive/legislative harmony was as a result of quality contributions of members, pointing out that such disposition has gone a long way to assist governor Udom Emmanuel to effectively deliver on his pre-election promises.

Other members of the selection committee include the Deputy Speaker, Mrs. Felicia Bassey (Okobo); Mr. Nse Ntuen (Essien Udim); Mr. Samuel Ufuo(IkotAbasi/Eastern Obolo) and Victor Udofia(Ikono).

Others are Hon. Otobong Jonathan (Ukanafun); Mr. Gabriel Toby (Etim Ekpo /Ika) and Hon. Idongesit Ntekpere (Ikot Ekpene /Obot Akara).