Prof. Bolaji Owasanoye

The Senate on Wednesday screened Prof. Bolaji Owasanoye as the chairmanship nominee for the Independent Corrupt Practices and other related offences Commission (ICPC).

Owasanoye was the executive secretary of the Presidential Advisory Committee Against Corruption (PACAC) before his nomination by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Advertise With Us

The nominee, if approved, will take over from Ekpo Nta, whose five-year tenure expired in June and who has been redeployed to the National Salaries, Incomes and Wages as a full-time commissioner.

The screening, conducted by the Senate Committee on Anti-corruption and Financial Crimes, was also conducted for eight nominees as members of the board.

The nominees are Dr. Grace Chinda (Delta), Okolo Titus-(Enugu) Abiora Iqwedebia (Anambra) and Olubukola Balogun (Lagos).

Others are Justice Adamu Bello (Katsina), Hannatu Muhammad (Jigawa), Abdullahi Maikanu Saidu (Niger) and Yahaya Umah Daudu (Nasarawa).

Chairman of the Committee, Sen. Chukwuka Utazi, cautioned the nominees against exhibiting attributes that could demean the credibility, value and prestige of the ICPC.

He urged them to be prepared for the job ahead if eventually confirmed by the Senate, adding they draw inspiration from one another.