Buhari Bans 50 'Corrupt' Nigerians From Leaving Nigeria
President Muhammadu Buhari.

The Presidency has denied that it has released the list containing the names of the 50 prominent persons banned from travelling out of the country.

The Federal Government had on Saturday banned 50 high-profile Nigerians from travelling abroad following the implementation of the Executive Order 6 signed by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Advertise With Us

A national daily had published the names of the 50 persons affected by the travel ban, but the presidential aide, Garba Shehu told Channels television on Sunday that the names of those affected have not been released to the public.

“We’ve seen a number of names being circulated. We have not issued any list. We are not going to issue any list because, again, if we did so, a lot of criticisms will follow. Trials by media and all sorts of things.

“This administration will not be subjected to another round of trial by the press; that we are persecuting individuals, or this is political, which, absolutely, it is not or that we are just convicting people via the press,” Shehu said.

The presidential aide said the federal government will not release any list to the public as it would not help matters, adding that the individuals “know themselves. If in doubt, they can check with immigration.”

He opined that the travel ban was in the interest of concluding cases that have dragged on for too long “and held our judiciary captive”.