NEMA Declares Flooding As National Disaster In Rivers, Four Other States
NEMA staff

The National Emergency Management (NEMA) has declared the flooding in Rivers, Adamawa, Taraba, Kebbi and Bayelsa as a national disaster.

NEMA head of media and public relations, Sani Datti, made this known in a statement on Thursday in Abuja, Nigeria’s capital.

Advertise With Us

Datti said Mustapha Maihaja, director-general, NEMA made the declaration following the ongoing efforts of the agency to tackle and assist flood victims across the country.

His words: “It would be recalled that on Sept. 17, a National Disaster was declared in Kogi, Niger, Delta, Anambra states,” he said in the statement.

“In consideration of the data and information being received, in particular the Preliminary Damage Assessment (PDA) and guided by relevant NEMA Policy documents, additional 5 states are observed to have been impacted severely by the disaster.

“On the consultation, subsequent endorsement of all the stakeholders here present, and the delegation of Authority conferred on me by the President and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

“I, Mustapha Yunusa Maihaj, the Director-General, NEMA hereby declared National Disaster in the five (5) states of Adamawa, Bayelsa, Kebbi, Rivers and Taraba.”

Datti said the NEMA Director-General commended the efforts and commitments of all stakeholders, and the international partners for their contribution so far to the success of the operation.

Maihaja explained that the addition of the five states recently declared expands the scope and the need for response and call for more support accordingly.