Saraki swears in new lawmakers in the nation’s upper legislative chamber

Senate President Bukola Saraki has sworn in Ahmad Babba Kaita and Lawal Yahaya Gumau as senators representing Katsina north and Bauchi south respectively.

The two senators are members of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Advertise With Us

Saraki swore them in at the upper legislative chamber on Wednesday.

Concise News had reported that Babba and Gumau won bye-elections conducted in August.

Babba polled 224,607 votes ahead of Kabir Babba Kaita, his brother, who polled 59,724 votes. His brother is of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Nigeria’s main opposition party.

In the same vein, Senator Gumau polled 119, 489 votes to beat Ladan Salihu of the PDP, who got 50,256 votes.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) conducted bye-elections in their areas following the passing away of senator Mustapha Bukar from Kastina north in April and senator Ali Wakili, who represented Bauchi south, in March.