Saraki Inaugurates Technical Committee To Study Returned Bills By Buhari
Saraki sears in new lawmakers in the nation’s upper legislative chamber

Senate President Bukola Saraki has inaugurated a technical committee to study some bills that President Muhammadu Buhari declined to assent to.

Saraki inaugurated the committee during plenary on Wednesday.

Advertise With Us

Those who make up the team are Senators Baba Kaka Bashir, Babajide Omoworare, Joshua Lidani, Rose Oko and Yahaya Abdullahi. The committee is to be headed by Senator David Umaru.

This development comes after a Point of Order was raised by the Senate Majority Leader, Ahmad Lawan, at plenary on Tuesday.

Lawan, in his point of order, said, “I have listened to the bills you have read conveying the observations of Mr President for not signing so many bills.

“I am of the opinion that we should study all these bills that have been returned to us to understand the real issues “I believe that we will have something to learn from it to avoid a repeat.

“We need to take proactive action. In view of this, I suggest we set up a technical committee under the Chairman, Rules and Business.” In his remarks, the President of the Senate, Dr Bukola Saraki, asked Lawan to constitute the committee and forward the names of members to Senate in plenary.

“Leader you can set up the committee and let us have the names and give a time frame for the committee to work.”

The bids rejected by the President are National Electoral (Amendment) Bill 2018; Stamp Duties(Amendment) Bill 2018; Advance Free Fraud and other Related Offences(Amendment) Bill 2017; and Subsidiary Legislation(Legislative Scrutiny) Bill 2018.

Others are National Institute of Hospitality and Tourism(Establishment) Bill 2018; National Research and Innovation Council(Establishment) Bill 2017; and Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency(Amendment) Bill, 2017.

The president also declined assent to Industrial Development(Income Tax Relief)(Amendment) Bill; 2018; Chartered Institute of Entrepreneurship (Establishment) Bill 2018; National Agricultural Seeds Council Bill 2018 and five(Fourth Alteration) Amendment Bills.