Falcons Know Opponents As Caf Holds AWCON Draw October 21
Nigeria have won the AWCON eight times. Image: Premium Times.

The draw for the 2018 Africa Women Cup of Nations (AWCON) will take place on October 21 in Ghana, the Confederation of African Football (Caf) have said.

Caf made the announcement on Monday, with the draw for the eight-team competition billed to hold at an unrevealed place in Ghana’s capital, Accra.

Advertise With Us

Nigeria, defending champions of the tournament, are seeded in Group B with hosts Ghana seeded in Group A.

Algeria, Zambia, South Africa, Cameroon, Mali, and Equatorial Guinea are the other teams that will be battling for the coveted trophy between 17 November and 1 December 2018.

Nigeria, eight-time winners, out of 10 editions, won the past tournament in Cameroon in 2016. They beat the Central Africans 1-0.