Image courtesy AFP

The Vice President of the Nigeria Union of Journalists, South East Zone C, Comrade Chris Isiguzo, has been elected as the President of the Union.

Comrade Isiguzo emerged at a keenly contested election at the 6th triennial conference of the Union held in Abeokuta the Ogun state capital on Friday.

Advertise With Us

Isiguzo polled 346 votes to defeat six contestants including the immediate past president Mr Waheed Odusile who scored 329 votes.

Chris Isiguzo . Source: Twitter.

In his acceptance speech, Comrade Isiguzo promised to take the Union to a greater height through inclusive government and solicited the cooperation of all members for a successful tenure.

Concise News reports that the NUJ President is an Editor with ThisDay Newspaper and is from Enugu Zone of the Union.

Meanwhile, Cosmas Oni won the post of the Vice President of the Southwest zone with 145 votes to defeat Segun Adeyemo who polled 58 votes.