Gov. Al-Makura Wins APC Ticket To Vie For Senatorial Election
Nasarawa State Governor, Umaru Tanko Al-Makura.

Governor Umaru Al-Makura of Nasarawa state has won the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) ticket to represent the party in the South senatorial zone election of the state in 2019.

The chairman of the electoral committee, represented by the secretary, Abdullahi Candido, Ismaila Ahmed, announced the result on Wednesday in Lafia.

Advertise With Us

Ahmed said Al-Makura polled 1,262 votes to defeat his opponent, Salisu Egyegbola, who had 312 votes.

The chairman of the electoral committee said 1,612 delegates were expected to participate in the exercise but 1,608 were accredited while 1,594 voted.

Meanwhile, the governor has expressed delight at the outcome of the election and dedicated the victory to the people of the state.

Governor Al-Makura commended the maturity exhibited by his opponent for accepting the result of the election in good faith.

The Nasarawa state governor also lauded the electoral committee for the transparency of the process, saying they demonstrated the ideals the APC stood for.

Al-Makura promised not to let the people down when he’s elected senator representing Nasarawa South at the general election.