Rangers have won the Federation Cup five times

Holders Akwa United have crashed out of the 2018 Aiteo Cup, also known as the Federation Cup, after losing on penalties to five-time winners Rangers in the quarter-finals on Wednesday in Kano.

The Flying Antelopes, who last won the cup in 1983, fought from a goal down to edge the Promise Keepers 4-2 in the shootout after the closely fought game had ended 1-1.

Advertise With Us

Micheal Ibe fired United in front close to the end of the first-half before Okey Odita got Rangers’ equaliser 20 minutes from time.

And coach of the side Gbenga Ogunbote stated that the Coal City club would continue to fight hard to win the competition.

“It was hard and we expected it and prepared well for it. Thank God we did not lose our heads after going behind but kept pushing and got the equalizer that took the game to penalty kicks,” Ogunbote said after the game.