Libya Unleash Squad For 2019 Afcon Showdown
Eagles will take on Libya back-to-back as they bid to reach their first Africa Cup of Nations after missing two consecutive editions

Super Eagles captain John Mikel Obi has been left out of the squad to face Libya in a back-to-back 2019 Africa Cup of Nations Group E qualifier this month.

Arsenal forward Alex Iwobi, Saudi Arabia-based Ahmed Musa and defender William Troost-Ekong made the cut as coach Gernot Rohr on Monday unveiled his 24-man squad to face the Mediterranean Knights.

Advertise With Us

Other notable misouts, according to a media release from the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), are Joel Obi, Simeon Nwankwo and Kelechi Nwakali.

The Eagles, who are one point adrift of group leaders Libya after two games, host the first leg on 13 October at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium in Uyo.

The reverse fixture comes up on 16 October at the Stade Taïeb Mhiri in the city of Sfax, Tunisia.

Nigeria got their qualifying campaign back on track with a 3-0 spanking of Seychelles in September, having surprisingly lost 2-0 at home to second-placed South Africa in their opening group game.

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Elche FC, Spain); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany).

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel).

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nasr FC, Saudi Arabia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Italy); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux FC, France); Isaac Success (Watford FC, England).