APC Publicity Secretary, Bolaji Abdullahi Photo: Premium Times

Former minister of Sports Bolaji Abdullahi and seven other aspirants on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) have withdrawn from the governorship primary of the party in Kwara State.

They announced their withdrawal from the race at the ongoing primary election holding at Banquet Hall, Ilorin.

Advertise With Us

Other aspirants who have withdrawn from the race were Dr Ali Ahmad, Saka Isau, Alh Ladi Hassan, Ibrahim Ajia, Hon. Zakari Mohammed and Hon. Ahman Pategi.

According to Tribune, the contest is now between House of Representatives member, Razak Atunwa from Kwara Central and Senator Sha’aba Lafiagi from Kwara north.

Speaking at the event, Governor Abdulfatah Ahmed explained that the aspirants withdrew from the race because of the interest of the party.

He thanked the state’s political leader, Senate President Dr Bukola Saraki for his wise counselling and purposeful leadership, which have kept members of the PDP united in the state.