Maimala Buni/dailynigerian.com

The All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primary in Yobe State has produced the party’s national secretary, Alhaji Maimala Buni, has emerged as its flagbearer in the 2019 election.

Buni defeated three others in the party’s primary in Damaturu on Sunday.

Advertise With Us

Alhaji Umar Kareto, the Returning Officer of the election, announced the results on Monday.

Kareto said Buni polled 2,797 votes to defeat Hon. Sidi Karasuwa who scored 23 votes, Alhaji Umar Ali – eight votes and Aji Kolo who had four votes.

The election was conducted peacefully with delegates from the 17 Local Government Areas of the state.

The returning officer commended the governorship aspirants and their supporters for their cooperation during the primary and acceptance of the result.

In his acceptance speech, Buni commended delegates of the party for the confidence reposed in him, saying it is a collective victory for all the contestants and the APC.

He promised to run an all-inclusive administration that would carry everyone on board to enhance the development of the state.

Ahmed Lawan, the leader of the Senate, congratulated the candidate, other aspirants and party supporters for the hitch-free conduct of the election.

He said: “Members of the party had exhibited uncommon unity and passion for the party’s growth and development of the state.

“I commend the three other aspirants for conceding defeat which depicts the spirit of sportsmanship.”