President Muhammadu Buhari Welcoming Senators Saraki, Lawan and Honourable Dogara yesterday. Picture: Twitter

The All Progressives Congress (APC) in Yobe North Senatorial District has endorsed President Muhammadu Buhari, Senator Ahmed Lawan and Maimala Buni for the 2019 general election.

The senatorial district which comprises of six local government, Bade, Jakusko, Machina, Yusufari, Nguru and Karasuwa, passed votes of confidence on the trio in a meeting in Gashua.

Advertise With Us

They adopted Buhari for a second term, Lawan to return to the Senate, and Buni for governor.

Speaker, Yobe House of Assembly and chairman of the occasion, Adamu Dala-Dogo said: “Yobe North has under the Buhari administration enjoyed numerous federal projects which were canvassed by the Senate leader.

“We want this gesture to continue in the next dispensation and that is why we have endorsed them as our consensus candidates for re-election.”

A former lawmaker Sani Ell-Katuzu also said that though the zone had expected the governorship slot to be conceded to it, the governor and party stakeholders in their wisdom nominated Buni to succeed Governor Ibrahim Gaidam.