Dr Victor Oye, National Chairman of APGA

The Supreme Court has affirmed Victor Oye as the authentic National Chairman of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA).

The apex court, in a unanimous judgment by a five-man panel of Justices on Friday, dismissed an appeal that was lodged by a faction of the party that was led by Martin Agbaso.

Advertise With Us

In a lead judgment that was delivered by Justice Sidi Bage, the Supreme Court, upheld the August 16, 2017, verdict of the Court of Appeal in Enugu, which vacated the order of mandamus that directed the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to relate with and to recognise Agbaso as the authentic National Chairman of APGA.

“In the final analysis, the two issues in the appeal is resolved in favour of the 1st Respondent. The appeal lacks merit and it is accordingly dismissed. The judgment of the lower court is affirmed. I make no order as to cost”, Justice Bage held.

Other members of the panel that concurred with the lead verdict were Justices Rhodes Bode-Vigour, Mary Odili, Iyang Okoro and Amiru Sanusi.

Some members of the National Working Committee (NWC) of the party had in October 2016, announced the suspension of Oye from the party for alleged gross misconduct.

Oye was suspended alongside the Deputy National Chairman (North), Abubakar Adamu and the Deputy National Chairman (South), Uche Okogbuo, while Nwabueze Okafor (now late), was appointed as interim National Chairman.

The late Okafor was the Vice Chairman of APGA in the South East, before he was chosen to replace Oye, a resolution that fictionalised the party.