Governor Samuel Ortom / Facebook

Benue state governor Samuel Ortom has partially dissolved the State’s Executive Council, Secretary to the State Government, Anthony Ijoho, said on Sunday.

The government says four commissioners and seven special advisers to the governor would retain their portfolios.

Advertise With Us

They include the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Mr Michael Gusa; Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology, Professor Dennis Ityavyar; Commissioner for Finance, Mr David Olufu; and the Commissioner for Lands, Survey and Solid Minerals, Mr Bernard Unenge.

Ijoho said in a statement that the special advisers, who also retained their portfolios, were Dr Magdalyne Dura – Development Cooperation, SDGs and NEPAD; Mr Matthew Mnyam – Education; and Mr Ode Enyi – Gender, Employment and Labour Matters.

Others are Mr Thomas Anajav – Government House Administration; Mr Tahav Agerzua – Media, Information and Technology; Lieutenant Colonel Paul Hemba (Rtd) – Security; and Mr Joseph Odaudu – Special Duties.

The SSG said the partial dissolution of the cabinet takes immediate effect while the outgoing members of council would hand over to their permanent secretaries or most senior director, as the case may be.