MKO Abiola

President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday formally made the presumed winner of the June 12, 1993 Presidential election, late Moshood Abiola, Grand Commander of the Order of the Federal Republic (GCFR).

The conferment of the honour on the late Abiola comes 25 years after the election, which is recognised as the freest in the country’s history.

Advertise With Us

Babagana Kingibe, running mate of late Abiola and human rights activist Gani Fawehinmi were also given national honours of  Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger (GCON).

Key players of June 12 struggle were invited by President Muhammadu Buhari to witness the conferment of the titles on the democracy heroes.

Among the top key players invited by President Buhari include human-activist Wole Soyinka and Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN), Femi Falana.

Also, all governors elected under Social Democratic Party of Nigeria (SDP) platform were invited to the investiture scheduled to take place on June 12, 2018, at the State House, Aso Rock Villa, Abuja.