Former Ekiti State Governor, Kayode Fayemi

Minister of Mines and Steel Development and former Ekiti State Governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, has won the All Progressives Congress governorship primary election held in Ado Ekiti, the state capital.

Nasarawa Governor Tanko Al-Makura announced this on Saturday.

Advertise With Us

He stated that Fayemi polled 941 votes to beat 32 other aspirants while Segun Oni scored  481 votes and Kayode Ojo came third with 281 votes out of the 2337 delegates accredited to vote.

Al-Makura also noted that 2313 was the total valid votes.

Some of the aspirants such as Biodun Amudipe and Patrick Adekunle did not score a single vote while Senator Ayo Arise Bamidele Olumilua’s son, Muyiwa polled two votes and Opeyemi Bamidele scored eight.

With his victory, Fayemi, who was governor in the state between October 16 2010 and 2014, will compete against the incumbent Deputy Governor Kolapo Olusola, who is the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party and heavily supported by Governor Ayodele Fayose in the 14 July election.