DPR Closes 70 Filling Stations In Delta
DPR sealing filling station – Thisday
Seventy filling stations have been closed by the Department of Petroleum Resources (DPR), Warri zone, in Delta state, says Operations Controller of the agency Antai Asuquo.
Asuquo revealed this on Tuesday in Warri, adding that they were sealed for several illegal practices like hoarding, under-dispensing, over-pricing, abandonment and diversion of products.
He said that the affected stations were sealed within six weeks.
According to him, the stations were sealed in Ughelli, Warri,  Sapele, Ozoro, Olleh, Kwale, Agbor, Obiaruku and Asaba.
He noted that the affected stations were among over 446 filling stations visited by the department’s surveillance squad.

“The exercise is a continuous one until the petroleum marketers complied with government’s approved pump price of N145 per litre,” the operations controller said.

“It is not our intension to seal a petrol station that has products but the products should be sold to the public at the regulated pump price.

“The premium motor spirit remains a regulated product and the price is N145 per litre.”

He added that “marketers have their complaints but the Petroleum Product Marketing Company (PPMC) imports and sells product to the depot owners at the regulated price of N133.28k per litre.

“So if marketers know that they cannot sell at the approved price of N145 to customers, they should not buy.”