Voters casting their votes in the Anambra re-run election on Saturday/NAN

Collation of votes in Saturday’s Anambra Central Senatorial re-run has commenced.

According to reports, the election commenced at 8 a.m in six Local Government Areas of Awka North, Awka South, Anaocha, Dunukofia, Njikoka, and Idemili South, except in Idemili North that recorded some hitches.

Advertise With Us

Voting ended at 2 p.m. at Umudioka Town Hall polling units, Amawbia Village Square, Aroma Junction in Awka South Local Government and Central Primary School, Ukpo in Dunukofia.

Voting also ended at Oye Market in Ukpo in Dunukofia with five polling units and collation of votes were in progress.

Leo Nkedife, the Head of Department of INEC in Awka, said the problem in Idemili North was sorted out a few hours after it was reported to the commission, adding that voting was ongoing in the area.

He said that prospective voters in the area would be given consideration if they were on queue before 2 p.m when voting was expected to end.