The Monkeypox epidemic is alleged to have been recorded in Lagos state, bringing to seven states affected since the first case reported in Bayelsa.

This is according to the National Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) which said 31 cases have been recorded and they are spread between Lagos, Ogun, Ekiti, Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Rivers and Cross Rivers states.

Advertise With Us

Cross River state had on Sunday refuted claims of the presence of the viral zoonotic disease which bears similar symptoms to smallpox.

In a statement released by the NCDC on Monday, its national coordinator, Dr Chikwe Ihekweazu, said not all the cases have been confirmed to be monkeypox as the agency is still waiting on laboratory results.

Ihekweazu said, “Samples have been collected from each suspected case for laboratory confirmation. Results are still awaited. So far, there have been no deaths recorded.

“It is unlikely that many of the suspected cases are actually monkeypox but all are being investigated. Nigerians are once again advised to remain calm, avoid self-medication and report any suspected case to the nearest health facility. Public health authorities across the country have been well informed on what to do when a suspected case arises.”

The NCDC boss said emergency operation centres have been set up in the affected states and the federal government has ensured the availability of experts and health officials who would provide aid to the states’ Ministries of Health.