APC Chairman, John Odigie-Oyegun. Twitter

By Ige Olugbenga

The National Executive Committee of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has expelled the Bayelsa State Chairman of the party, Tiwei Orunimighe, his deputy, Eddy Julius, and the state Secretary, Marlin Daniel, from the party.

Advertise With Us

The expulsion came in the midst of a protracted crisis between factions loyal to the party leader and former governor of the state, Timipre Sylva and that of Orunimighe.

In a letter signed by the General Secretary, Mai Mala Buni, the APC national headquarters, disclosed  that the party’s NEC sustains the August 3, 2017 recommendation of the National Working Committee for Orunimighe and the others to be suspended and expelled over anti-party activities.

The expulsion letter dated August 4, 2017 with reference number APC/NDQ/552/31/017/002, also ordered Orunimighe to hand over the party property in his possession to the party’s vice-chairman of the Bayelsa State Central Senatorial District.