Nigeria's men's basketball team D'Tigers at the last Afro-Basket Championship in Tunisia
Nigeria’s men’s basketball team D’Tigers at the last Afro-Basket Championship in Tunisia

By Andah John

African champions Nigeria will defend their title in Tunisia and Senegal as both countries have been confirmed as joint-hosts of the 2017 Fiba AfroBasket championship.

Advertise With Us

The competition will take place from September 8 to16.

Basketball’s ruling body, Fiba, in a statement, said 16 participating teams will be divided into four groups of four teams in the Group Phase of the competition.

Senegal’s capital city of Dakar will host two groups, while Tunisia’s capital city of Tunis will host the other two.

The top two teams from each group will advance to Tunis, which will also host the Final Phase which consists of the Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals and Finals.

The bottom two teams from each group in the Group Phase will be knocked out of the competition.

Other participating teams include Angola, Cameroon, Central African Republic (CAR), Cote d’Ivoire, the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Egypt and Guinea.

The rest are Mali, Morocco, Mozambique, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, Tunisia and Uganda.