Real Madrid’s victory over Atletico Madrid was their 11th European Cup triumph. Getty Image

By Oladipupo Mojeed

Defending champions of the UEFA Champions League, Real Madrid, has been drawn against fellow city rival, Athletico Madrid in the last four stage of the prestigious club competition.

Advertise With Us

This will be a repeat of last year’s final which the Galaticos won  on penalties.

A triumph in the two-legged affair would set Zinedine Zidane’s side on the path to becoming the first club to retain the trophy in the Champions League era in the final on 3 June in Cardiff.

Meanwhile, French side, Monaco will take on Italian club Juventus in the other last-four tie.

The first legs will be played on 2nd and 3rd May, with the return legs taking place the following week.

Gunning for 12th title

Real, aiming to win Europe’s premier club competition for a 12th time, got the semi final ticket by beating German champions, Bayern Munich 6-3 on aggregate in the quarterfinals to reach the last four.

Atletico on the other hand ended Premier League champions Leicester’s fairy tale run in Europe, edging the Foxes 2-1 over two legs.

Juventus claimed an impressive 3-0 aggregate win over Barcelona while Monaco defeated Borussia Dortmund 6-3.

Red Devils to face Celta Vigo

Marcus Rashford celebrates with teammates against Anderlecht,

In the Europa cup, English side, Manchester United will be facing Celta Vigo of Spain in the semi-finals of the Europa League.

The Premier League side have won the European Cup three times but have never been successful in the continent’s secondary club competition.

Dutch side Ajax, winners in 1992, will trade tackles with French club, Lyon, in the other last-four tie.

Ajax, who beat Schalke 4-3 on aggregate to reach the last four, are also experienced European campaigners.

They have won the Champions League/European Cup four times previously and the Europa League/Uefa Cup once, beating Torino in the 1992 final.

The first legs will be played on 4th May while the return legs will be played on 11th May, and the final in Stockholm, Sweden on 24th May.

United manager, Jose Mourinho, who won the competition with Porto in 2003, will fancy his team’s chances against La Liga club Celta who have never won a major European competition.