Lordson Okpetu

Akwa Ibom Governor, Emmanuel Udom

Akwa Ibom State governor, Emmanuel Udom, has sacked his entire cabinet.

Advertise With Us

No reason was given for the surprise clear out, according to a statement issued in Uyo on Saturday by the Secretary to the State Government, Mr Etekamba Umoren.

Umoren directed the Permanent secretaries to take over from the commissioners pending the formation of a new cabinet, NAN reports.

According to the statement, the governor expressed gratitude to the outgoing cabinet members for their services to the state.

The statement also added that Emmanuel wished them success in their future endeavors.

Majority of the outgoing commissioners had been in the state executive council since 2007, when Senator Godswill Akpabio was in charge of the state.

Akpabio, against all opposition, virtually installed Emmanuel Udom as his successor.

List of Akwa Ibom commisioners axed by Udom

Those sacked are:
– Barrister Uwemedimo Thomas Nwoko – Attorney-General/Commissioner of Justice
– Mr. Akan Okon – Commissioner for Finance and also
– Dr. Mathew Nathan Ekaette – Commissioner of Agriculture and Natural Resources.

Others also sacked are:
– Mr. Ephraim Akparawa Inyang-eyen – Commissioner for Works
– Prince Godwin Ntukude – Commissioner of Transport
– Aniekan Simon Akpan – Commissioner of Education
– Dr. Dominic Ukpong – Commissioner of Health
– Uwem Ita Etuk – Commissioner of Lands/Town Planning
– Mr. Enobong Emmanuel Uwah – Commissioner of Housing and Urban Renewal.

Also affected in the dissolution order are:
– Dr. Iniobong Ene Essien – Commissioner of Environment and Mineral Resources
– Mr. Aniekan John Umanah – Commissioner of Information and Communications
– Victor Etim Antai – Commissioner of Local Government and Chieftancy Affairs
– Emmanuel Moses Enoidem – Commissioner of Investment, Commerce & Industry
– Ekong Sampson – Commissioner of Rural Development and also
– Dr. Emmanuel Ating Onwioduokit – Commissioner for Economic Planning and Development

The sack list also include:
– Dr. (Mrs) Elizabeth Donald Obot – Commissioner of Science and Technology
– Otuekong Emmanuel Udo Ibiok – Commissioner for Culture and Tourism
– Dr. Glory Emmanuel Edet – Commissioner of Women Affairs and Social Welfare
– Monday Ebong Uko – Commissioner of Youths and Sports and also
– Engr. Etido Inyang – Commissioner of Special Duties.